Founders and Pastors

First Presbyterian Founders and Pastors

The very day that the structure was completed, dedication ceremonies were
started with a sermon preached that Saturday, December 16, 1871, by the
Reverend James Park of Knoxville. On Sunday, the 17th, the dedication
sermon was preached by our first pastor, the Reverend Joseph Martin, of
Jefferson County. His text was “Ye are the Temple of the Living God”. No
doubt, in attendance was the entire congregation and the founding charter


Charter Members

Col. and Mrs. John Rober Branner
Presbyterian Church
Presbyterian Church
Col. and Mrs. Sam N. Fain
Presbyterian Church
Presbyterian Church
William A. Moser
Judge Milton Jarnagin
Dr. and Mrs. George P. Yoe
Mrs. Agnes Jarnagin
Mr. and Mrs. S.D. Williams
Mrs. Porter Peck
R. H. Ashmore
John Fain Ross
Mr. and Mrs. W.M. Newman
Presbyterian Church
Presbyterian Church
Mrs. A.J. Mountcastle
Mr. and Mrs. B.M. Branner
Geo. Branner
J.P. Rhoton
Richard Bradshaw
Mary I. Parrot
T.C. Newman
Sterling Branner
J.B. Brisco

Our Pastors from the beginning…

Joseph Hamilton Martin, 1867-1873

John Daniel, 1874-1875

William Cameron, 1876-1877

J. Albert Wallace, 1877-1879

E. McNair, 1880

Marshall Wallace Milliard, 1881-1883

(first name lost) Gregory, 1885 Stated Supply

C. J. Ralson, 1886 Stated Suppl

John Pegram Anderson, 1886-1887

Joseph Gabriel, 1888-1889

J. C. McFerrin, 1889-1892

James McGavock Richardson, 1893-1894

A. Sidney Doak, 1895-1899

Marvin MacFerrin, 1900-1903

Franklin Leeper, 1904-1910

Moses Liddell, 1912-1913

John B. Bittinger, 1914-1919

Dabney Carson, D. D., 1920-1922

V. P. Merrell,, 1924

J.J. Douglass, 1926-1929

E. C. Tomkinson, 1929-1934

Harry M. Moffett, Jr., 1935-1939

Ralph Llewellyn, 1940-1942

John Yelton, 1944-1950

Richard F. Rouquie, 1950-1953

B. Harrison Taylor, 1954-1958

Zachary T. Piephoff, Jr., 1959-1962

E. O’dell Smith, 1962-1968

Richard Keaton, 1968-1971

Andrew Schramm, 1971-1982

Keith Nickle, 1982-1991

Ford King, 1991-1994

Robert Reno, 1994-2002

Russ Weekley, 2002-2010

Glenda Hollingshead (Associate Pastor), 2007-2010

Dr. Robert Shurden (Interim Pastor), 2010-2011

Andrew C. Whaley, 2011-2015

Diana Moore (Interim Pastor), 2015-2017

Our Church History

Significant Events

Founders and Pastors

Fun Facts

Present Day